Declaring a Kong
You can declare a Kong on your turn, if you have:
- Four identical tiles in the hand.
- A melded Pung, and the fourth
identical tile just or
previously received from the Wall or Dead Wall (as a supplement tile).
- If you have unassigned jokers, you must specify tile values for them
before declaring a Kong.
- Note that you cannot declare a Kong immediately after a Ready declaration,
but depending on the rules it may be allowed on the subsequent turns (e.g.,
in case of an obligatory ready declaration there
are no restrictions on subsequent turns, but rules for a voluntary
ready declaration often prohibit changing the hand in any way after the
declaration, or allow only concealed Kongs that do not alter the hand).
- Note too that some rules restrict the number of Kongs allowed during a
deal. For more information, see the Dead hand rules.
To declare a Kong:
- Click the Kong button on the status bar.
If your claim is valid, the Kong dialog box appears.
Otherwise, a message box informing of an illegal declaration is displayed
(but no penalties are applied). If you confirm
the declaration, the tiles forming the Kong are zoomed out from the Hand Tiles row and
zoomed in on to the Melded Tiles row. In case of completing a Pung to a Kong, the fourth
tile is inserted on the Melded Tiles row right after the third tile of the melded Pung.
- After the tiles have been melded you receive a supplement tile from the Dead Wall (unless there are no tiles left in the Wall, in which case the deal ends right after the
tiles have been melded).
Note: Four Winds 1.x allowed a player to declare a Kong after having claimed a
tile for a Chow or Pung. This is the default option in Four Winds 2, as well. Some
rules, however, prohibit a player to declare a Kong in situations like this, but rather
restrict the right to declare a Kong to player's own turn only. You can apply this rule
option by clearing the Allow Kong after claiming of Pung or Chow box on
the General option page under the Rules section in the
category tree of the Preferences dialog box. Notice that even if this
rule is enabled, you are allowed to declare a Kong, if you claim a tile for a Kong, since in
this case you will receive a supplement tile from the Dead Wall and you are no longer
dependent on other player's tile.