Let us assume that the winner was North and scored 8 points for his hand. The winning tile was claimed from East's discard.
6.1 Payments to the winner
In modern Chinese Mah Jong each loser pays the winner double his final score, in case the winning tile is self-drawn. However, if the winning tile is claimed from another player's discard, discarder pays double and other losers normally. East does not receive and pay double.
Accordingly, the winner is paid as follows:
|16 pts||From East (8 pts doubled once, since East was the discarder)|
|8 pts||From South|
|8 pts||From West|
6.2 Payments between the losers
There are no payments between losers in modern Chinese Mah Jong.
The final payments are added to/reduced from players' total points:
|East gets from||South gets from||West gets from||North gets from|
|Total points before this hand||2,000||2,000||2,000||2,000|
|Total points after this hand||1,984||1,992||1,992||2,032|
The total of all points stays always the same – in this case, 8,000 points.
Note that if penalties are used, they are always added/subtracted at the final stage of scoring. E.g., if the rules specify penalty for faulty declarations worth 1 point and East has made one faulty declaration of Pung, the total points would be 1 point less for East and 1 point more the winner.