Four Winds Rule Collection Japanese Classical

6. Payments

Let us assume that the winner was North and scored 200 points for his hand. The winning tile was claimed from East's discard.

6.1 Payments to the winner

In Japanese rules each loser pays the winner according to the final score of the winner's hand, in case the winning tile is self-drawn. However, if the winning tile is claimed from another player's discard, discarder alone pays all losses (that is, not only his share but for all losers). As in Chinese rules, East always receives and pays double.

Accordingly, the winner is paid as follows:

400 pts From East (200 pts doubled once)
200 pts From South
200 pts From West

800 pts Total

If the winning tile were self-drawn, the losers would pay the amounts mentioned above, but as the winning tile was discarded by East, East shall pay alone the whole sum.

6.2 Payments between the losers

There are no payments between losers in Japanese Mah Jong.

6.3 Totals

The final payments are added to/reduced from players' total points:

East gets from South gets from West gets from North gets from
Total points before this hand 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000
East 800
North 800
Total points after this hand 1,200 2,000 2,000 2,800

The total of all points stays always the same in this case, 8,000 points.

Note that if penalties are used, they are always added/subtracted at the final stage of scoring. E.g., if the rules specify penalty for faulty declarations worth 10 points and East has made one faulty declaration of Pung, the total points would be 10 points less for East and 10 points more for the winner (penalties are not doubled for East).

Note: If the rules apply a limit for the total score a player can score for his hand, the limit is applied to the final score, not the payments (and with loser payments, not to the difference of losers' final scores)! Accordingly, if the Limit is 500 points, the maximum payment an East winner can get for a hand is 3,000 points (1,000 points from each loser).

Related topics: