Let us assume that the winner was North and scored 960 points for his hand. The winning tile was claimed from East's discard.
6.1 Payments to the winner
In Japanese rules each loser pays the winner according to the final score of the winner's hand, in case the winning tile is self-drawn. However, if the winning tile is claimed from another player's discard, discarder alone pays all losses (that is, not only his share but for all losers). As in Chinese rules, East always receives and pays double.
The final score is rounded up to nearest 100 at the time of payments. However, for discarding player (who always pays for all), and for East (who pays and receives double) the rounding is done only once (for the total), so that the rounding effect is not accumulated.
Accordingly, if the winner (North in this case) had gone out on a self-drawn tile, the payments would have been as follows:
|1900 pts||From East (960 pts doubled and rounded up to nearest 100)|
|1000 pts||From South (960 pts rounded up to nearest 100)|
|1000 pts||From West|
In the example above it was assumed that the winner went out on a discard made by East so the payments would be calculated as follows:
|1920 pts||From East (960 pts doubled)|
|960 pts||From South (960 pts rounded up to nearest 100)|
|960 pts||From West|
|3900 pts||Total rounded up to nearest 100|
In this case the payment would have been the same but note that because of the rounding method the winner often gets slightly bigger payments if he goes out self-drawn.
Often ready-made settling tables (see below) are used instead of calculations (which may be tricky because of rounding rules). E.g., for this example the table #4 could be used directly to determine the payments based on known fu and han values (60 and 2 in this case).
6.2 Payments between the losers
There are no payments between losers in Japanese Mah Jong.
The final payments are added to/reduced from players' total points:
|East gets from||South gets from||West gets from||North gets from|
|Total points before this hand||25,000||25,000||25,000||25,000|
|Total points after this hand||21,100||25,000||25,000||28,900|
The total of all points stays always the same – in this case, 100,000 points.
Note that if penalties are used, they are always added/subtracted at the final stage of scoring. E.g., if the rules specify penalty for faulty declarations worth 100 points and East has made one faulty declaration of Pung, the total points would be 100 points less for East and 100 points more for the winner (penalties are not doubled for East).